baked bacon maple doughnuts

baked mayple bacon doughnuts madeyedlinblog.combaked mayple bacon doughnuts madeyedlinblog.com-2

 

I am kind of a newbie when it comes to that love of bacon that everyone has. I used to skip the bacon if it was an option at a meal. And I think I know why. Mom, I am sorry to say, but you burn your bacon to a point that is uneatable. You turn it to char, and it’s gross. Now that I can cook my own bacon, and it’s not charcoal, bacon is the best thing on the freaking planet. Sorry to disappoint you mom, but you really need to work on your bacon frying skills. So in celebration of my recent covert to the bacon side, let us top everything with bacon!

These little babies were inspired by a Bluestar doughnut that was brought to me by my awesome co-workers on my birthday. She actually brought a whole box to the shop during my shift, sweetest thing ever.

As far as doughnut pans go, I use this one.

 Adapted from this recipe (also a Portland blogger!)

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 +2 tablespoons whole milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon butter, melted

about 5 strips of bacon

Cook the bacon, drain, and cut into very small pieces.

Heat the oven to 325. Grease a doughnut pan.

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together. Add the milk, vanilla and melted butter. Whisk until combine. Divide into the doughnut pan, wiping the edges, filling about 2/3 full. Bake for about 12 minutes, or until you can poke them and they spring back. They will not brown. Cool on a wire rack.

Make the glaze:

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

Whisk both together. Add more sugar and syrup as needed to get a drizzly consistency.

To assemble:

Once the doughnuts are cooled, drizzle them with the glaze. Let them sit for a minute, then drizzle again.  Then sprinkle with the bacon.

Leave a Reply

